What to Do First After an Arrest for DUI/DWI

If you are charged with a DUI or DWI, you are in serious trouble. Your first priority is finding a qualified DUI lawyer to take your case and request an administrative hearing.

1. Request an Administrative Hearing

Unless you request an administrative hearing within 10 days in Kansas or 15 days in Missouri, you will lose your license! The temporary license you have already received has all the instructions on how to request a hearing or you can let Abella Law Firm, L.L.C. take control of the situation.

2. Find the Best DUI/DWI Attorney in Kansas City

This is a must if you expect positive results. If they are not a member of the National College for DUI Defense, then they are not serious about defending DUI cases. You should also consider attorneys who are members of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers.

3. Chronicle the Event in Writing

While the event is still fresh in your mind, write down all the details that you can think of. Where were you coming from and where were you going? Were you involved in an accident - if so, what were the details of the accident? What did the officer say to you and were you asked to take a field sobriety test? Did the officer have you follow a pen or other device with your eyes? Did the officer have you perform other tasks like standing on one leg, walking heel-to-toe, say the alphabet, count numbers backward, etc.? Try to remember everything that was said between you and the officer word-for-word; these details can make all the difference.

4. Gather Your Witnesses

If you had people around you who witnessed the event or were with you prior to the arrest, have them put their experiences with you on paper.

5. Have a Medical Examination

Contact your doctor and ask to have any medical conditions you have documented for your hearing. Common conditions such as allergies, ear infections, asthma can mislead officers or cause you to fail field sobriety tests. Recent head trauma can, of course, affect test results.

6. Have Your Vehicle Inspected

Have your mechanic check for any mechanical defect that may have caused the vehicle to not operate correctly. If there were problems that may have caused the vehicle to get pulled over by the officer, have them documented by your mechanic.