If you have had your driver's license revoked or suspended as a result of a serious traffic violation or a repeat DUI in Kansas City, MO, this means that you would not be eligible to drive for any reason for the duration of any license suspension. However, in certain situations, the state does have the discretion to reinstate your driver's license if you attempt to have your driving privileges reinstated.
Being caught driving without an active license could lead to further penalties and issues with authorities. Before attempting to drive on a suspended license, consider exploring other options like pursuing a suspended hardship license to retain driving privileges. Abella Law Firm is standing by to provide suspended hardship license assistance.
You need to be able to illustrate to the state that you are now ready to drive responsibly. This means that you might have taken steps such as enrolling in a driver's education program, seeking out drug counseling, alcohol counseling, or rehabilitation. This can increase the chances of having your license reinstated after a driver's license suspension in Kansas City.
What you need to know is that some of the most common charges that lead to a driver's license suspension in Kansas or Missouri include being charged with:
- Hit and run
- Repeat DUI
- Driving with a revoked or suspended license
- Reckless endangerment
- Excessive speeding
- Drunk driving
- Passing an unloading or loading school bus
In some situations, the state also has discretion regarding the installation of an ignition interlock device. Rather than having a fully suspended license, individuals approved for this alternative may be able to retain driving privileges with the use of an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle instead.
If your license was suspended or revoked due to chemical test refusal, you may be able to receive a hardship license. If approved, this allows you to retain limited driving privileges.
Those facing a suspension due to a second DUI in a 5-year period may be eligible for a hardship license as early as 90 days after the suspension begins. For those individuals facing a 5 or 10-year suspension, your Missouri suspended hardship license attorney may petition the court for reinstatement.
Kansas allows drivers to pursue a hardship license if privileges have been suspended for a minimum of one year. If the suspension was due to the refusal of a chemical test, 90 days must pass before applying. If the license was suspended due to alcohol or drug-related conviction or a test failure, you can request a hardship license after 45 days.
Losing driving privileges can be more than just an inconvenience- it may impact your ability to hold down a job or go about your daily life. This is why it's worth pursuing a suspended hardship license with the help of an experienced Kansas or Missouri DUI defense attorney. Contact Abella Law Firm and schedule suspended hardship license assistance today.